Conscious Revolution
Conscious Revolution
Is E. Tolle a Cult Leader?
4
0:00
-57:08

Is E. Tolle a Cult Leader?

Political Awakening 102
4

Last year, I polled my audience to ask them if they thought Eckhart Tolle was a cult leader. Most people said Yes, which confirmed my own beliefs about the influential spiritual teacher and self-help author.

I’ve been studying Eckhart Tolle for over 5 years. I never really bought into the hype around The Power of Now—partially because I didn’t think he was saying anything new, and partially because I was a spiritual elitist.

By the time I read his best-seller, I was already familiar enough with the spiritual philosophies of Hinduism and Buddhism to recognize the watered-down version of these teachings that Eckhart Tolle presented to his Western audience. However, this alone is not enough to make him a cult leader. The ‘cult factor’ plays into someone’s overall social influence. I think it’s too early to tell if Tolle has had a net positive or a net negative impact on society….but there are few things that make me as skeptical as a rich and famous white man telling me how the world works.

I’m hesitant to label every other spiritual teacher a cult leader until I’m absolutely sure, and I have reasons to back it up. With Tolle, I’m still not 100% convinced he is a cult leader. There are certainly aspects of his influence that are cult-ish or cult-y. But after listening to this two part interview on A Little Bit Culty Podcast, my current stance is that Eckhart Tolle is not a cult leader, but his flawed and incomplete teachings don’t hold up to scientific scrutiny. By itself his teachings are not harmful, but once you put them into context around the larger New-Age zeitgeist, they take on a more insidious form because they are completely out of touch and falsifiable…imho.

In this episode, I critique 3 ideas that I found to be particularly troubling in his interview with the hosts of A Little Bit Culty podcast. I won’t give away which 3 critiques they are so that you can listen to the episode, but I will give you a hint:

  1. E. Tolle’s perspective on the purpose of awakening

  2. E. Tolle’s perspective on the purpose of suffering

  3. E. Tolle’s perspective on the #1 skill that gives us immunity from cult control

Additionally, I re-introduce the concept of Political Awakening in relation to the new-age doctrine, while also providing context for our understanding of the term "new-age."

Enjoy and thanks for listening 🙂!

I’d love to know what you think of Eckhart Tolle’s teachings. Have you listened to this interview on A Little Bit Culty? Share your thoughts!

4 Comments
Conscious Revolution
Conscious Revolution
Conscious Revolution is a podcast about political awakening--where we explore the intersection of cults, cons, and capitalism. How do we define ourselves outside of exploitative social systems, mainstream cults, internet echo-chambers, and authoritarian agendas? How do we navigate the collective struggle to discern reality from illusion? Conscious Revolution is a critical exploration of this and so much more! Get in, loser: We're starting a Conscious Revolution!
Hosted by Margarit Davtian, a Master’s level social scientist, activist, and spiritual seeker. This podcast takes a critical approach to personal evolution and embraces the concept of ethical, trauma-mindful self-help.
We deconstruct cultural movements, dodge the traps of the spiritual ego, explore new perspectives, laugh at our mistakes, liberate our mind from dogma, and resist the culty influences that distort, manipulate, or sabotage our evolution.
There’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path. I hope you have chosen to walk the path. I’m so happy that our paths have crossed and I’m looking forward to celebrating, sharing, and learning with you! For more insights and inspiration, visit seekwithser.com. You can also find me on Instagram and Facebook @seekwithser.